Florida Motorcycle Accidents
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Motorcycle accidents aren’t just dangerous physically; they can be costly and complicated. If you’ve been involved in a motorcycle accident in Florida, you face a number of additional laws, insurance requirements and regulations imposed by both Florida and federal regulations.
The National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration (NHTSA) reported that Florida had 562 motorcycle fatalities in 2006 – more than any other state in the nation.
Who Is At Fault?
Answers to questions of liability depend on state laws and circumstances specific to each accident. Florida is a “comparative fault” state. This means that financial liability is proportionate to fault. Fault is determined by evaluating factors such as road conditions, speed, driver fatigue, alcohol or drug influence and weather. An experienced Florida motorcycle accident attorney can help determine who was at fault in a motorcycle accident.
Helmet Laws and Florida Motorcycle Accidents
Florida requires drivers and riders under the age of 21 to wear helmets. Those who are 21 and over who choose not to wear helmets must carry at least $10,000 in medical insurance. If you think this is an unreasonable requirement, consider the statistics: A helmet can reduce the chances of fatal head injuries by 40 percent (head injury is one of the top factors in motorcycle accident fatalities). When Florida passed its current motorcycle helmet laws and repealed it’s previous law requiring helmets of all riders, the state saw an 81 percent increase in motorcycle accident fatalities.
Motorcycle Licensing and Insurance
Motorcycle drivers in Florida must obtain either a motorcycle endorsement on the current drivers license or a motorcycle-only license in order to operate a motorcycle whose engine is larger than 50 cc. Florida requires motorcycle drivers under the age of 21 to complete a motorcycle safety course before obtaining either the endorsement or the motorcycle license. If a driver is at or over age 21, he or she may opt to take the knowledge and skills test in lieu of the safety course. Though insurance is not required to register motorcycles in Florida, motorcyclists who are involved in an accident in the Sunshine State are liable for property damage and bodily injury incurred during the accident. They must also purchase personal injury insurance in order to keep their motorcycle endorsement and prevent tag suspension on their motorcycle.
If You Have Been Involved in a Motorcycle Accident in Florida
If you are involved in a motorcycle accident, contact a competent Florida motorcycle accident lawyer immediately. An experienced attorney knows the ins and outs of Florida motorcycle laws and insurance regulations and can help you obtain compensation for injuries and property damage. To have your case evaluated by an experienced Florida motorcycle accident attorney, fill out our case evaluation form. There is no cost and no obligation.