Federal Tort Claims Act Medical Malpractice Lawsuits: Where & How Are They Litigated?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Lawsuits filed against the government fall under the Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) and are litigated very differently than other lawsuits. This article explains where and how Indian Health Service and veterans’ medical malpractice lawsuits are litigated.

Where Are FTCA Medical Malpractice Lawsuits Litigated?

Federal Tort Claim cases which proceed to litigation, are always conducted in Federal District Court – either the Federal District Court nearest where the injury itself took place, or where the claimant resides. For example, if a patient obtained care in Texas, but resides in New Mexico, the opportunity presents itself for the lawsuit to be brought in either jurisdiction. The choice of where to actually file suit usually based on a careful analysis of the competing risks and benefits associated with either jurisdiction.

It is very important to remember that the Federal Tort Claims Act provides for all cases to be heard by the bench, that is by a Federal District Court Judge alone. There is no right – to a jury trial under the Federal Tort Claims Act.

How Are FTCA Medical Malpractice Lawsuits Litigated?

In order to bring the United States into court and actually sue the government through one of its federal agencies, the Federal Tort Claims Act requires that an administrative claim be filed with the responsible agency. For example, in the event that an individual is injured as a result of negligent care provided by the Indian Health Service, then they must present their written complaint to an Indian Health Service regional office within the time allowed (again, two years from ‘discovery’ of the injury). Once received, the federal agency has a period of six months in which they are entitled to investigate the case and make efforts to resolve it through settlement – or to deny the medical malpractice claim.

During that six-month period, the case is essentially frozen and there is no right for the claimant to bring a lawsuit against the U.S. However, after six months elapses, if the government agency has not taken action of some kind, then, by law, the claimant can go ahead and file suit against the United States. The decisions of whether and when to actually take the step of filing suit is one of the most important aspects of hiring an experienced FTCA medical malpractice attorney who understands how the FTCA works.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption