Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 30, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Pennsylvania marriage laws dictate what a couple must do to obtain a valid marriage license in the state. Minors must get parental consent, and those 15 and younger must also get court approval in order to marry. Meanwhile, divorced individuals must present a certified copy of the divorce decree. The following are additional details on the Pennsylvania requirements for getting a marriage license.

 

Pennsylvania Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must obtain parental consent to marry in Pennsylvania. Additionally, they must provide a certified copy of their birth certificate and pay an extra $5 fee. Minors 15 and younger must, besides parental consent, get a court order from a judge of the Orphans’ Court.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Pennsylvania without parental consent.

 

Pennsylvania Common Law Marriage

Pennsylvania does not recognize common law marriages. However, the state does continue to recognize common law marriages that were created in Pennsylvania before 2005.

 

Pennsylvania Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Driver’s license or other standard form of identification, and a social security number must also be provided.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Pennsylvania. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  • Previous Marriages:  Divorced individuals must present a certified copy of their divorce decree, while widows need to provide the date of the death of their former spouse.
  • Length of License:  60 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Generally $80, payable in cash only.
  • Authorized Pennsylvania Officiants:  Judges, county clerks, justices of the peace, and any ordained minister.