Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: May 2, 2012

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

New Mexico marriage laws dictate that couples follow the necessary procedures to obtain a valid marriage license before being married in New Mexico. Minors must obtain parental consent, while previously married individuals must provide the dates that those marriages ended. Common law marriages are not recognized in New Mexico. For more on the requirements for a New Mexico marriage license, read on.

 

New Mexico Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in New Mexico, but must obtain parental consent first. Minors under 16 must also get a court order.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in New Mexico without parental consent.

 

New Mexico Common Law Marriage

New Mexico does not recognize common law marriages.

 

New Mexico Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo ID and proof of having a social security number.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  No proxy marriages in New Mexico. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals should provide the dates that those marriages ended, but certified proof is generally not required.
  • Length of License:  1 year from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Range from $25 to $40 depending on the county, payable in cash only.
  • Authorized New Mexico Officiants:  Justices of the peace and ordained ministers.