Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
A valid Minnesota marriage license is required for a legal Minnesota marriage to take place. Minors need to have the consent of a parent to get married, while other requirements are imposed on adults who were previously married. While Minnesota does not recognize common law marriages, it does recognize those that are legally valid in another state. The requirements for successfully applying for a Minnesota marriage license are provided below.
Minnesota Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: Individuals between 15 and 17 can only marry in Minnesota with the consent of a parent, guardian, or the approval of a judge. Minors younger than 15 need written consent from a parent and a juvenile court judge.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older need not obtain parental consent to get married in Minnesota.
Minnesota Common Law Marriage
The state of Minnesota does not recognize common law marriages. However, Minnesota does recognize valid common law marriages from other states.
Minnesota Marriage License
Residency: No residency requirement.
Identification Required: Required identification may vary by county, but a photo ID such as a driver’s license is a minimum. A certified copy of your birth certificate may also be required.
Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages are not allowed in Minnesota. However, only one party needs to show up at the time of application, provided they have the other party’s notarized signature and identification.
Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals must provide certified proof of the dissolution of the previous marriage.
Length of License: 6 months from the time of issuance.
Fees: $110, but $40 for couples who have completed a minimum of 12 hours of a premarital education course.
Authorized Minnesota Officiants: Judges, clerks of court, and any licensed ministers, priests, and rabbis. Not all Minnesota judges will perform marriages, so check with your specific county for more information.