Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Maine marriage laws require individuals to obtain a valid Maine marriage license before getting married in the state. Minors wishing to marry in Maine must also obtain parental consent and, in some cases, a court order. The specific requirements for obtaining a Maine marriage license are detailed below, including the documentation that previously married individuals must provide.

 

Maine Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in Maine but must obtain the written consent of their parents. Any minor under 16 must get the written consent of a judge in addition to written parental consent.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older do not need any parental consent to marry in Maine.

 

Maine Common Law Marriage

The state of Maine does not recognize common law marriages.

 

Maine Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirements, but Maine residents should apply in the town in which they reside.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo identification such as a driver’s license, and social security number. Certified copies of a birth certificate may also be required; check with the municipality in which you intend to apply.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriage is not allowed in Maine. Both parties must appear at the time of application.
  • Previous Marriages:  Individuals who have been previously married must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate as proof of the ending of the prior marriage.
  • Length of License:  90 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  $20.
  • Copies:  Marriage certificates must be purchased after the ceremony for a fee ranging from $7-$10.
  • Authorized Maine Officiants:  Judges, retired judges, lawyers admitted to state bar of Maine, a notaries public, and ordained ministers.