Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

The state of Louisiana requires individuals to obtain a valid marriage license before being married. Louisiana marriage laws dictate the requirements for applying for a marriage license. Minors must obtain parental consent and, in some cases, a court order. Louisiana does not recognize common law marriages.

 

Louisiana Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds wishing to marry in Louisiana must obtain the consent of both parents, unless proof of sole custodianship can be shown. Minors younger than 16 need parental consent and a court order.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older can marry in Louisiana without parental consent.

 

Lousiana Common Law Marriage

Louisiana does not recognize common law marriages.

 

Louisiana Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Certified copies of birth certificates for both parties, plus social security numbers.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Louisiana. However, only one party need be present when applying for the marriage license. They must present a certified birth certificate for the absent party.
  • Previous Marriages: Previously married parties must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate when applying for the marriage license.
  • Length of License:  30 days from time of issuance, and applicants must obtain the license at least three days prior to the ceremony.
  • Fees:  Generally $25-$30, depending on the parish.
  • Copies:  $5 per copy.
  • Authorized Louisiana Officiants:  Ordained members of the clergy, justices of the peace, and judges.