Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Arizona marriage laws do not provide for a minimum statutory age for getting married. Individuals under 18 can marry with parental consent, and those under 16 can marry with a court order in addition to parental consent. An Arizona marriage license is valid for one year following its issuance, and there is no Arizona residency requirement.

 

Arizona Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: There is no minimum statutory age in Arizona. 16 and 17 year-olds may marry with the consent of parents or legal guardians. Individuals 15 or younger can also marry with parental or guardian consent, but must also obtain a court order from an Arizona superior court judge.
  • Without Parental Consent: Individuals 18 and older may marry without parental consent in Arizona.

 

Arizona Common Law Marriage

Arizona does not recognize common law marriages.

 

Arizona Marriage License

  • Residency:  Individuals don’t need to be residents of Arizona to get an Arizona marriage license.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Individuals must present a drivers license or other form of identification that shows current address and date of birth. Individuals under 30 should also bring a copy of their birth certificate.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Arizona.
  • Previous Marriages:  No proof of divorce decree is required.
  • Length of License:  An Arizona marriage license is valid for 1 year.
  • Fees:  $50, payable by cash or money order.
  • Filling Out the License/Submitting the License:  Both parties must be present.
  • Authorized Arizona Officiants:  Arizona marriages can be performed by judges, magistrates, clerks of circuit courts or towns, and members of the clergy. If performed by clergy, the marriage license must be sent to the Arizona Superior Court clerk within 20 days following the marriage.