Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Ohio DUI lawyers, Ohio DUI laws, and what an Ohio DUI attorney can do for you.

Ohio DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Ohio DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Ohio DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Ohio DUI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a Ohio DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Ohio DUI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of a minimum of 3 days in jail, up to 6 months.  If BAC is .17 or above, a minimum of 6 days in jail.

Fine:   $250 to $1,500.

License Revocation:  Range from 6 months to 3 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court will not mandate an IID on your vehicle.  However, if you want a restricted driver’s license during your suspension period, the court will mandate an IID to be installed on your vehicle.

 

Second Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of a minimum of 10 days in jail, plus electronic home monitoring from 18 days to 6 months.  If BAC is .17 or above, a minimum of 20 days in jail.

Fine:  $350 to $2,000.

License Revocation:  Range from 1 to 5 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court will not mandate an IID on your vehicle.  However, if you want a restricted driver’s license during your suspension period, the court will mandate an IID to be installed on your vehicle.

 

Third Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of a minimum of 30 days to 1 year in jail, plus electronic home monitoring from 55 days to 1 year.  If BAC is .17 or more, a minimum of 60 days in jail.  Also, must attend mandatory alcohol treatment program.

Fine:  Range from $350 to $2,000.

License Revocation:  1 to 10 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):   Mandatory installation of an IID on your vehicle.

Ohio BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.17%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

Ohio Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusing to take an alcohol test can result in a year-long license suspension.