Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
To get married in Connecticut, individuals must follow Connecticut marriage laws, particularly the requirements for obtaining a marriage license. Minors must obtain parental consent in addition to a marriage license. Note that same-sex marriages are legal in Connecticut. The requirements for a Connecticut marriage license are set forth below.
Connecticut Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year olds must obtain written parental consent in order to marry in Connecticut. Those under 16 years old must also obtain a court order.
- Without Parental Consent: Individuals 18 years of age and older may marry in Connecticut without parental consent.
Connecticut Common Law Marriage
Connecticut does not recognize common law marriages.
Connecticut Marriage License
- Residency: No Connecticut residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Couples must present a photo ID, as well as the following information: social security numbers, mothers’ maiden names, and parents’ birthplaces.
- Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages are not allowed in Connecticut.
- Previous Marriages: Individuals who were previously married should present a copy of their divorce decree, or information on the date and location the previous marriage ended. If your name has changed, a certified copy of the divorce decree is required.
- Length of License: 65 days from the date of issuance.
- Fees: In general, Connecticut marriage license fees range from $30-$35, but may vary by county.
- Authorized Connecticut Officiants: Judges and retired judges as well as licensed or ordained members of the clergy may perform a Connecticut marriage ceremony.