Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Laws
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Arkansas workers’ compensation laws detail the kinds of benefits that workers who are injured or become ill due to occupational hazards may receive, and the procedures that must be followed to obtain these benefits in Arkansas.
Claims under Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Laws
Arkansas workers’ compensation laws provide for workers or their relatives to receive benefits for injuries resulting from workplace accidents, occupational illnesses, or death.
Injuries Resulting from Workplace Accidents
If an employee falls, slips, or trips or is otherwise injured in an accident at the workplace, his employer’s workers’ compensation insurance should cover his injury. However, if a worker’s injury was caused in part by his use of drugs or alcohol, or was self-inflicted, he will not be eligible to receive Arkansas workers’ compensation benefits.
When a worker’s illness comes about because of his normal work duties (either because he is exposed to unsafe conditions or because the work he does causes the illness) he is covered by his employer’s workers’ compensation insurance in Arkansas.
Payment of death benefits to relatives of deceased workers may be possible in an amount based on the extent of the relative’s dependence.
Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Treatment for Your Injury: Your employer’s insurance will pay for the healthcare necessary to treat your work-related injury or illness. Such treatment may include hospital bills, doctor appointments, and any other medical treatment required.
Mileage and Wage Reimbursement: Your employer’s insurer must reimburse you for the mileage cost of travel to and from a physician’s office or hospital for treatment of your injury or disease. You may also be reimbursed for the wages you lose because of your traveling to and from medical appointments.
Death and Funeral: If a worker dies from his occupational illness or injury, his surviving relatives may receive payments to compensate for his loss of earning potential. Also, up to $6,000 may be available for funeral costs.
Replacement Income: Replacement income benefits can fall into one of four categories:
1) Temporary Total Disability Benefits (TTD): Weekly, the employee will be paid 2/3 of his average weekly wage prior to his injury while he recovers from his injury or illness and cannot work in any capacity.
2) Temporary Partial Disability Benefits (TPD): If the worker can still do some work, but cannot perform all of his employment duties, he will receive 2/3 of the difference between his current wage and the average weekly wage he earned prior to his injury.
3) Permanent Partial Disability Benefits (PPD): PPD applies when the employee’s injury will permanently affect him and will result in the loss of some body part or function. Compensation may continue for 450 weeks, but depends on the injury.
4) Permanent Total Disability Benefits (PTD): PTD may be paid when it’s unclear whether you will ever be able to seek employment again because of the seriousness of your injury. Payment will be made weekly at 2/3 of your weekly wage prior to your injury or the onset of your illness.
Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Statutes
Provisions pertaining to Arkansas workers’ compensation can be found in the Arkansas Code.
Employers Subject To Workers’ Compensation: Labor and Employment, Title 11, Chp. 9 § 401; Covered Employees: Labor and Employment, Title 11, Chp. 9 § 523; Benefits: Labor and Employment, Title 11, Chp. 9 §§ 501-603; Claims Procedure: Labor and Employment, Title 11, Chp. 9 §§ 529, 701.