Arkansas Car Accident Law, Lawyers and Attorneys
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Feb 19, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Arkansas Car Accident Law, Lawyers and Attorneys
Unfortunately, car accidents are a fact of life. They happen each and every day across the United States. In Arkansas, over 63,000 car accidents occurred in the year 2008 alone. If you or a loved one have been in a car accident and are looking for help, you’ve come to the right place. Of course, if the accident just occurred and you or someone is injured, the first step to take is to call 911 immediately. The resources available on FreeAdvice.com, information on how to assess your rights and responsibilities and where to go for help, will come into play soon after you’ve taken care of your immediate health needs. Our car accident articles cover issues ranging from claims and fault data, to liability issues and the context behind structured settlements. You will also find rules, laws and other information specific to the state of Arkansas, as well as links to Arkansas personal injury attorneys who can assess the value of your claim and provide advice on the best course of action for you.
Arkansas Car Accident Articles:
How an Auto Accident Insurance Claim Works
What is Your Car Accident Injury Claim Worth?‘
Who is at Fault?‘
Car Insurance and Auto Accidents: Are You Covered?
What You Can Expect to Recover for Property Damage in Auto Accident Cases
Auto Accidents: Options if You’re at an Impasse with the Insurance Adjuster
Car Accidents Involving Government-Owned Vehicles and Government Workers
Do I Need to Contact an Attorney After a Car Accident?
Arkansas Car Accident Lawyers:
Special Rules for Arkansas Car Accidents:
Arkansas Fault: Proportional Comparative Fault @ 50%
Arkansas Car Insurance Requirements/Limits: Bodily Injury & Property Damage Liability. The minimum level required by law is:
$25,000 per person for bodily injury
$50,000 per accident for bodily injury
$20,000 per accident for property
Note that uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury is not required by law in Arkansas, but if you can afford it, it’s a considerable value for the added cost. Also note that proof of this liability insurance must be kept available in the vehicle at all times, including when registering a vehicle, renewing license plates, or anytime an officer of the law asks you for the proof.
Arkansas Small Claims Limits: $5,000
Arkansas Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: 3 years
Arkansas Auto Accidents Involving Government Vehicles: In most cases, government entities receive protection from private lawsuits under a legal doctrine known as “government immunity” or “sovereign immunity.” This doctrine doesn’t necessarily provide complete protection though; sometimes it just imposes extra notice requirements. For more information on this type of government protection, follow this link to the FreeAdvice.com article on vehicle accident claims against government entities. Keep in mind that, depending on which government entity, there are frequently special requirements for how long you have to notify them of your claim. See below for some details specific to Arkansas:‘
Requirements for Filing Against Government Entities:
1) For filing against the Federal Government: Use Standard Form 95 and follow the instructions on the back page. The form must be completed and submitted to the appropriate agency within two years after the incident giving rise to the claim.
2) For filing against the State of Arkansas: Any accidents resulting in injuries or damages in excess of $1,000 must be reported to the Arkansas police within 30 days. In Arkansas, this report can be done online. The link to the online Arkansas State Car Accident Report (SR-1) is here. Note that this requirement holds whether or not you are at fault. Arkansas law also requires that the owner/driver of every vehicle involved in an accident file proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Finance and Administration. For contact information see Arkansas Car Accident Resources and Statutes. Any claims that might lead to a Tort Claims Act lawsuit (see “Federal Government” requirements above) are handled very swiftly and seriously, so even though you may have up to two years to file the completed Standard Form 95, local agencies and their respective monitoring agencies begin investigations almost immediately, with government employees being required to submit their accident reports usually within 48 hours to a week. That means the government investigation will begin in earnest immediately after that; if you can manage to file your claim sooner, the better chance your evidence may have of standing up to the government’s investigation. See the Arkansas Car Accident Lawyers section above for links to our AttorneyPages.com Arkansas car accident attorney database.
3) For filing against an Arkansas county or municipality: The requirements vary by county or municipality, so you’ll have to contact the specific county or agencies involved. See Arkansas Personal Injury Venue below for more information on where and how to file a claim. See this directory to search for other departments in the state of Arkansas.
In dealing with accidents involving government entities and workers, be aware that there are always special notices you are required to file against the appropriate government unit responsible, whether in risk management, the attorney general’s office, or local agencies, and the time periods are limited in all cases (as little as 30-180 days). The rules can be confusing, so carefully check the forms linked above before you fill them out, and/or call the Department of Finance and Administration directly before filing your claim. Accident claims involving the government can be complicated. Any mistakes in filing or failing to file on time could result in losing your ability to recover for your damages and injuries. Consult an experienced attorney right away to preserve your rights. Also see Car Accidents Involving Government-Owned Vehicles and Government Workers.
Arkansas Personal Injury Venue (Where to File Your Lawsuit): In the municipal or justice court located where the defendant (the person you are suing) lives or does business. Alternatively, you might consider filing in a court located where the accident occurred. If you are filing a claim against a government agency and are unsure of which agency is responsible, the most prudent course is to file a separate claim against each agency, or contact an Arkansas auto accident attorney.