Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Sep 15, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Long term care policies generally provide a 31-day grace period. This means that if you do not pay your premium when it is due, you have 31 days in which to do so. If you do not pay within the 31 days, you may be required to apply for reinstatement. If the company chooses not approve your application, you would lose your insurance unless you have elected a non-forfeiture clause. However, if your failure to pay is due to a cognitive impairment, you may have 180 days in which to pay all back premiums.