no proof of insurance but do have insurance under parents policy for other vehicles

Free Insurance Quote Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jan 31, 2012

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Insurance Question from Berwyn, IL

Asked on 01/31/2012

no proof of insurance but do have insurance under parents policy for other vehicles have a ticket for no Proof of insurance my parents have state farm but my dad can drive the car he just bought but doesn't have any liability... i was given permission to drive and got pulled over for driving 10mph over the speed limit and with no insurance card got a ticket for that to.. my question is if i present my parents insurance policy that i'm under with a written or present statement i was given permission to drive will it be dropped?

Answer given on February 01, 2012

If you are stopped in someone else’s car, they should have proof of insurance in the car. If they don’t, you will receive a ticket for failure to provide proof of insurance. Your father needs to get the car insured and he will get an insurance ID card. You should be able to take that to court to get the ticket dismissed. However, your dad needs to make sure the insurance ID card he gets from his agent shows the car was insured on the day of the ticket. If the agent can’t issue an ID card that way, see if they will write a letter on company stationery confirming that the car was automatically covered as of the date of purchase. Most insurance companies give you from 5-20 days to report an additional car. However, State Farm will not usually backdate a policy but will use the date your dad calls in with the information on the new car.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: These answers are for general information purposes only and are provided by the person answering and FreeAdvice.com AS IS. It has not necessarily been reviewed by the management staff of FreeAdvice.com nor is it binding any insurance agent, broker, or other insurance professional or any attorney or insurance company. Insurance laws, regulations and practices vary from state to state and insurance policies and practices differ from company to company, by type of policy, by state and locality and by type of insurance. Tiny variations in the facts, policy language or a detail not set forth in a question often can change the outcome or a professional's conclusion. Although FreeAdvice.com has confirmed that the answer(s) was/were provided for the account of an experienced insurance professional, that professional may not be licensed in the state referred to in the question, and may not be experienced or up to date in the subject area. Unlike the answers provided here, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you consult a licensed insurance professional in your area or retain a licensed attorney listed on AttorneyPages.com to represent you.

Free Insurance Quote Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to compare cheap insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption