Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Dec 13, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Insurance Question from Modesto, CA

Asked on 12/13/2011

My 21 year old daughter is under my insurance coverage. 15 months ago, she got her speeding ticket which she went thru traffic school. The second came in February 2011(which we paid) then 3 weeksago, came another. She now states she will be more careful. Is there something I can do so it won't affect our insurance. Also, can this cause her to lose her license?

Answer given on December 14, 2011

In California, you are able to go to traffic school for a ticket if it is the first in 18 months. Since the second ticket came sooner then 18 months, she was not able to go to traffic school so the ticket will affect the costs of insurance. The third ticket causes the loss of the California Good Driver Discount, which will increase the cost of the insurance by 20% plus the charge for the 2nd ticket. This could result in increased insurance costs of several hundred dollars over a three year period. After three years, the tickets will drop off, or at least the charges will be greatly reduced until the expire from the rating period for the insurance company.Since your daughter is 21, you could have her put a car in her name only and review the insurance coverages to see if you could reduce the costs with higher deductibles or lower liability. to remove her, presuming she lives in your home, you may have to exclude her from your policies. She will also lose the multi-car discounts and other discounts that you enjoy.If you choose not to do this, I recommend you have her pay for all tickets and increased costs of your insurance. This may inspire her to drive more carefully.Your daughter could be contacted by DMV regarding her driving record, but since she only has 2 tickets at this time, it probably will not raise any red flags.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: These answers are for general information purposes only and are provided by the person answering and FreeAdvice.com AS IS. It has not necessarily been reviewed by the management staff of FreeAdvice.com nor is it binding any insurance agent, broker, or other insurance professional or any attorney or insurance company. Insurance laws, regulations and practices vary from state to state and insurance policies and practices differ from company to company, by type of policy, by state and locality and by type of insurance. Tiny variations in the facts, policy language or a detail not set forth in a question often can change the outcome or a professional's conclusion. Although FreeAdvice.com has confirmed that the answer(s) was/were provided for the account of an experienced insurance professional, that professional may not be licensed in the state referred to in the question, and may not be experienced or up to date in the subject area. Unlike the answers provided here, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you consult a licensed insurance professional in your area or retain a licensed attorney listed on AttorneyPages.com to represent you.