Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jan 5, 2012

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Insurance Question from Stoughton, WI

Asked on 01/05/2012

Does a “Possess Open Intoxicants in MV-Driver” charge affect insurance premium? I am an insured motorist in the State of Wisconsin.About 4 years ago, I foolishly earned myself a “Possess Open Intoxicants in MV-Driver” charge. The case type was “Traffic Forfeiture” and the severity of the charge was “Forf.U”. I paid the $249.00 fine and moved on.I’m still with the same insurance company and I’ve never seen an increase.Recently, I decided to shop around and the apples-to-apples quotes came in significantly higher.My question is, in general, would insurance companies see this, thus affecting my premium?

Answer given on January 10, 2012

In some states, yes. It really depends on the insurance company and how their underwriting looks at and the weight that the give to this incident.  Call a couple of independent agents in your state. Advise them of your charge and ask them how the carriers that they write for look at this charge in your state.  This will give you an overall idea of how they view the charge. Also ask how long with most of their insurance companies count this violation on your record.  That will tell you how long you will have to remain with your present carrier before the violation is not counted.  If you still need a couple of comparison quotes on your auto insurance just to make sure you are getting the best deal possible, click here.     


IMPORTANT NOTICE: These answers are for general information purposes only and are provided by the person answering and FreeAdvice.com AS IS. It has not necessarily been reviewed by the management staff of FreeAdvice.com nor is it binding any insurance agent, broker, or other insurance professional or any attorney or insurance company. Insurance laws, regulations and practices vary from state to state and insurance policies and practices differ from company to company, by type of policy, by state and locality and by type of insurance. Tiny variations in the facts, policy language or a detail not set forth in a question often can change the outcome or a professional's conclusion. Although FreeAdvice.com has confirmed that the answer(s) was/were provided for the account of an experienced insurance professional, that professional may not be licensed in the state referred to in the question, and may not be experienced or up to date in the subject area. Unlike the answers provided here, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you consult a licensed insurance professional in your area or retain a licensed attorney listed on AttorneyPages.com to represent you.