Will my driver’s license be suspended as well?

I got pulled over and found out my insurance expired back in April.

Asked on June 3, 2009 under Insurance Law, Arizona


M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

The No Insurance law in Arizona (ARS 28-4135) carries a civil, not criminal, penalty.  The fines for breaking this law have a 77% surcharge added to them and some courts also add "user fees", so the actual fine is usually more than what is listed below. The penalties for a first offense (I assume that to be the case here) are:  $250 fine with surcharge = $442.50. 

The Judge can also suspend your license and registration for three months, although this is seldom done on a first offense.

The law contains a provision (ARS 28-4137) that allows the Judge to waive some or all of the fines if you bring proof to court showing you have purchased a six-month insurance policy on the vehicle. Often the Court will reschedule the case for about a month to give you a chance to get the insurance, since the main reason for the law is to make sure everyone is driving with insurance.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.