Will i get any jail time for an minor in possession with a theft 3 already on my record?

I entered an agreement with the state where if i dont get in any trouble for 12 months then the theft three charges would be dismissed but during that time i got a minor in possession but the charges were not filed until well after the twelve month period, have i broken my contract?

Asked on June 2, 2009 under Criminal Law, Washington

Answers:

N. K., Member, Iowa and Illinois Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

It appears that you have broken the contract because you weren't supposed to get into any trouble (even minor possession) during the 12-month period.

However, it is for the state to decide whether you will receive any jail time or whether they will dismiss the theft charges.

Good luck.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.