When a person walks off a job, how soon does the employer have to pay the final paycheck?

Asked on October 18, 2011 under Employment Labor Law, Oregon

Answers:

M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 9 years ago | Contributor

It all depends on the situation. If you give a 2-week notice and the employer fires you on the spot, then your final paycheck is due on the next business day. If you give at least 48 hours notice, then an employer must pay you on your last day. If you quit with less than 48 hours notice, then an employer must give you the severance paycheck on the sooner of: (a) the next regular payday, or (b) 5 business days.

Note:  There are exceptions to the above; the biggest being for union workers who are paid according to final paycheck rules in their collective bargaining agreements.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.