What is the statute of llimitations in Nj for a debt that might be 20 years old?

Asked on June 15, 2009 under Business Law, New Jersey

Answers:

B. B., Member, New Jersey Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

A contract claim in New Jersey is stale, and cannot be sued upon, after 6 years.

If the debt is one for the sale of goods under the Uniform Commercial Code -- and this includes a car -- the limitation is 4 years.

A business debt that's in the area of 20 years old?  Forget about it.  It isn't even legal for someone to put that onto your credit report.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.