What is the penalty for a Minor Visibly Intoxicated ticket?

Asked on May 18, 2009 under Criminal Law, Missouri

Answers:

L.M., Member, California Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

Missouri has a Dram Shop law which says that a cause of action may be brought by or on behalf of any person who has suffered personal injury or death against a licensed drinking establishment if it knew or should have known that it was serving liquor to a person under 21 or to a visibly intoxicated person.  Selling alcohol to a minor, in general, is punishable by a fine ranging from $50 to $1000, imprisonment in a county jail for up to one year, or both.


 


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.