What is the average consequence for being arrested for underage drinking?

Especially if it is the first offense? I am 20 years old. Not a DUI.

Asked on July 21, 2010 under Criminal Law, Florida


M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 10 years ago | Contributor

Florida, like many of the states, has what is known as a Zero Tolerance for underage drinking. Zero Tolerance laws state that persons under the age of 21 must not drink alcohol and drive. Even after one drink, minors will be punished for violating this law regardless of whether they are physically impaired during driving or not.

The consequences for an infraction vary from state to state. I believe that the consequences could be 60 days in jail, a $500 fine.  Florida may also subscribe to an administrative license revocation or suspension by the DMV.   It is best to have an attorney with you at the DMV proceeding and the criminal proceeding.  The results on the DMV proceeding may impact on the criminal proceeding.  Good luck.  

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.