Probation violation of ccw

my bf was on probation for carrying a concealed weapon, about 3 months after he was sentanced he was caught and charge with ccw again. He is in jail awaiting trial and I wanted to know what time he is facing. We live in ohio.

Asked on May 26, 2009 under Criminal Law, Ohio

Answers:

B. B., Member, New Jersey Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

I'm not an Ohio lawyer, but my research suggests that a second offense for unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon is a third degree penalty, with jail time that can range from one to five years, and a fine of up to $10,000.  He will also have his probation violated, so he will have to serve time for the first offense.

Criminal sentencing can take a lot of different things into account, so a lawyer would need quite a bit more information to have a better idea of what your boyfriend is looking at.  One place to look for counsel is our website, http://attorneypages.com


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.