If our 1 year lease was uplast monthbut we’re still here paying rent, how much notice do we need to give before moving out?

We’ve signed nothing new and landlord is uncommunicative. We still pay rent. Are we on month-to-month? Does the law assume that a new one-year lease is in effect? Most importantly, how much notice do we legally need to give before vacating. We bought a house and as soon as it’s fixed up we want to move!

Asked on September 5, 2011 under Real Estate Law, Louisiana


S.L,. Member, California Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 9 years ago | Contributor

Since you are still living on the premises after your lease ended and are continuing to pay rent, your tenancy is now month-to-month.  A month-to-month tenancy requires thirty days written notice of termination. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.