If someone gets a marriage license and uses it but doesn’t get it certified by the clerk, is it a legal document?

Asked on March 25, 2011 under Family Law, Colorado

Answers:

MD, Member, California Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 9 years ago | Contributor

Someone must return the valid marriage license after solemnization to the clerk within 60 days after solemnization.  Any person according to Colorado statutes who fails to return it to the clerk within that time period must pay a late fee of somewhere between twenty and fifty dollars. Once the clerk gets the license, then it can be registered. So it is still a document but the legal impact for the state registration is only effective when it is registered with the clerk. You are still considered married. Think about it this way...you were married on day 1 whether or not the solemnized license was returned on day 1 or day 60. But for registration purposes, you simply have to pay a late fee. The trouble only arises when you don't get married within 30 days of obtaining the marriage license.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.