If I’ve beenin a car accident with my minor children in the car, amI required to inform their mother if no medical attention was needed?

Kids are 12 and 15 years old.

Asked on November 11, 2011 under Family Law, California

Answers:

M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 9 years ago | Contributor

Listen, do you think that she is not going to find out?  You certainly can not tell the children to hide it from her.  That would not be right.  Think of it if the shoe was on the other foot here and you were the one being kept in the dark.  I think that you do have an obligation to tell her on some level, although I can not point to a law or statute that would tell you that.  I just think that it is best to come clean and let her know what happened.  If there is a police report then the kids are listed on it and she needs to know that as well.  Do the right thing.  Good luck.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.