If I don’t have a signed lease or security deposit can I evict a tenant

Asked on June 11, 2009 under Real Estate Law, Maryland

Answers:

M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

The tenancy is called a Month to Month tenancy.  It is a tenancy created under the law when no lease is present.  You need to serve your tenant with a 30 day notice.  This can be tricky.  If you can not hire a lawyer that is familiar with this field - recommended - then go down and speak with the clerks in your local Landlord Tenant Court.  They are very helpful and may even have printed information for you to read on the process.   As for the security deposit, without one you will have to sue the tenant for damage to the apartment (if any) after they vacate.  Take pictures.  Get estimates for repair. 


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.