What is the penalty for a second DUI in 18 months?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What is the penalty for a second DUI in 18 months?

I paid a fine and went to driving school for my first. NowI just received another 2 weeks ago. Am I looking at jail time?

Asked on August 14, 2010 under Criminal Law, New York

Answers:

M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 10 years ago | Contributor

DWI penalties in New York - as in most other states - have become stricter and stricter over the years.  In fact, they have become stricter literally overnight here as well under the second phase of Leandra's Law.  If this is your second offense within a 10 year period then it is considered a Class E Felony with a minimum fine of $1000 and a maximum fine of $5000, jail time up to 4 years with a minimum of 5 days or 30 days community service and a minimum one year revocation of your license with an ignition interlock device.    Get legal help on this as soon as you can. 


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption