I live in CA and rent a room in a house. They just raised out rent $250 more with only less than 13 or so days to the first is this even legal TY

Asked on May 18, 2009 under Real Estate Law, California

Answers:

E.H., Member, Calfiornia Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

Check out your renter's rights under California's Department of Consumer Affairs.

Specifically, this booklet will guide you through (look at page 30 regarding raising rent):

http://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/landlordbook/catenant.pdf

The rental raise rules will depend on the type of lease/rental agreement that you signed. For example, California law guarantees you at least 30 days' advance written notice of a rent increase if you have a month-to-month (or shorter period) of a rental agreement.

There are other examples in this booklet. If you have further questions, you could also try contacting the Department of Consumer Affairs.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.