DUI and child endangerment.

I got a DUI with a 2 yr old child in the car.  I blew a .086.  Will I get a criminal /child endangerment charge in the state of Montana?

Asked on June 25, 2009 under Criminal Law, Montana

Answers:

M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

If you are a first time offender with a BAC of.08% or higher, there will be imposed a minimum fine of $300 and up to 10 days in the county jail.  If this is a repeat offense, then the penalties are increased.  Additionally fines may be doubled if a passenger under 16 years old is riding in your car.

You can also be charged with the separate offense of child endangerment which carries possible incarceration and a fine.

Being a first time offender will help (although you didn't specify that this was the case), however, these are serious charges.  You need to consult with a criminal attorney in your area.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.