how long till forgery charges can’t be pressed?

last year i happen to forge checks from my mom bank account to get money out. She always says she gonna press charges. Now i live in my home and my son lost my house keys and she keeps coming in my home when i’m not here and taking stuff she gave me. when can she no longer press charges on me so i can press them on her. i live in hud houseing so that was the only key to my house

Asked on May 31, 2009 under Criminal Law, Oklahoma

Answers:

B. B., Member, New Jersey Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

I think you have at least a couple years to wait.  I'm not an Oklahoma attorney, but my research suggests that the statute of limitations on forgery in your state is 3 years. If what you did could be considered embezzlement, it would be 5 years.

You might want to speak to a criminal defense lawyer in your area, for a reliable understanding of your rights and your exposure, based on all of the facts of your case.  ONe place to look for qualified counsel is our website, http://attorneypages.com


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.