How long does an insurance company have to pay a personal injury claim once an agreement has been met?

It has been 6 weeks and they have not even sent a release, is that typical?

Asked on September 25, 2010 under Accident Law, Maryland

Answers:

S.L,. Member, California Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 10 years ago | Contributor

There isn't any set amount of time, but payment should occur shortly after the case has been settled and the release has been signed by all parties.  Since six weeks have elapsed without the release being sent, it would be advisable to contact the insurance company and inquire what is causing this delay.  It is NOT typical for six weeks to have elapsed since the settlement without the release being signed and payment being received.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.