how long does a lawer have to settle a personal injury case

car weck

Asked on July 3, 2009 under Accident Law, Texas


M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

A lot depends on the specific facts of the case.  If you could submit more details concerning your case that would be helpful; particularly dates (even if just general) as to when things happened.

In general, in Texas there is a 2 year statute of limitations on these type actions; it starts running from the date of the accident.


L.M., Member, California Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

The statute of limitations on personal injury cases in Texas is 2 years from the date of the accident.  Technically, that's how long you have to either settle your case or file a lawsuit.  If your lawyer is dragging his or her feet on getting the matter settled, though, you should ask what is going on and why.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.