How long do I have to wait to have a ClassA misdeamor expunged from my record?

I live in UT.

Asked on November 28, 2011 under Criminal Law, Utah

Answers:

M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 9 years ago | Contributor

In UT a Class A misdemeanor can be expunged after 5 years from the date that the petitioner was convicted or released from incarceration, probation or parole, whichever occurred last.

Note:  If the petitioner has 2 different Class A misdemeanors, the second offense cannot be expunged.

At this point, you will want to consult with a criminal law attorney that specializes in expungments. While you could file yourself, it is time-consuming and tedious. Having an experienced lawyer help you with this will ensure it is done correctly and filed as soon as legally allowed.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.