How long after an accident doesan employer have todrug test you?

Can they test you 9 days after the accident?

Asked on March 14, 2011 under Employment Labor Law, North Carolina

Answers:

M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 9 years ago | Contributor

I need to put this question in perspective and it is hard to do so with the amount of information that you have supplied here.  What kind of accident was it that you are talking about?  What are you employed as and was it related to the operation of some machinery involved in an accident? North Carolina does not required that employers drug test their employees or prospective employees but they allow them to do so within certain guidelines.  I am going to give you a link here to the North Carolina department of Labor and I might suggest contacting them with more specific questions here on the matter.  Good luck to you.         http://www.nclabor.com/wh/faqs.pdf


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.