If I got arrested for a 2nd DUI with a suspended license what will be jail time and fines?

1st DUI was less than 1 year ago and I did not complete DUI school. Should I speak with a DUI attorney? In Orange County, CA.

Asked on September 6, 2010 under Criminal Law, California

Answers:

M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 10 years ago | Contributor

The completion of the DUI school was most likely part of the terms of your sentence and probation which allowed you remain out and about until the matter was fully resolved in the court's eyes.  You did not and then received another DUI.  Yes, I would speak with a DUI attorney as soon as you can.  California - like most states these days - takes the idea of a driving while intoxicated or under the influence very seriously and the penalties often include serious jail time on top of hefty fines.  Plus revocation of your license.  California is also part of the Interstate Drivers License Compact and as such your information is shared with 44 other states (5 do not participate).  Good luck. 


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.