Florida tenants refusing to move out after lease expired (6/1/2009). What are the rules for eviction in Florida?

Tenant told by lender property in pre-foreclosure and they want to stay in the house trying to position themselves for a short sale.

Asked on June 15, 2009 under Real Estate Law, California

Answers:

M.D., Member, California and New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

Right now they are legally considered to be holdover tenants.  If they offer to pay rent, which I doubt that they going to do, do not accept it. 

The eviction process in Florida can take about 3-4 weeks.  This site will help you:  http://evict.com/?page=evictqa

Best of luck.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.