Car Accident Laws by State

Car Accident Law and Information by State

Click on the your state to access helpful car accident articles and FAQs.

State - Link leads to helpful articles and FAQs. How Fault is Determined Statute of Limitations - # of Years To File A Car Accident Lawsuit Involving an Injury Small Claims Court Limits
Alabama Contributory Negligence 2 years $6,000
Alaska Pure Comparative Fault 2 years $10,000
Arizona Pure Comparative Fault 2 years $3,500
Arkansas Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 3 years $5,000
California Pure Comparative Fault 2 years $10,000
Colorado Modified Comparative Fault at 50% 2 years $7,500
Connecticut Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $5,000
Delaware Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $15,000
Dist of Columbia Contributory Negligence 3 years $5,000
Florida No-fault 4 years $5,000
Georgia Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 2 years $15,000
Hawaii Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $5,000
Idaho Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 2 years $5,000
Illinois Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $10,000
Indiana Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $6,000
Iowa Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years personal $5,000
Kansas Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 2 years $4,000
Kentucky Pure Comparative Fault 1 year personal $2,500
Louisiana Pure Comparative Fault 1 year $5,000
Maine Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 6 years $6,000
Maryland Contributory Negligence 3 years $5,000
Massachusetts Proportional Comparative at 51% 3 years $7,000
Michigan Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% (although techinically Michigan is a No-fault state, there are special circumstances for bodily harm caused in auto accidents) 3 years $5,500
Minnesota Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 6 years $15,000
Mississippi Pure Comparative Fault 3 years $3,500
Missouri Pure Comparative Fault 5 years $5,000
Montana Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 3 years $7,000
Nebraska Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 4 years $3,600
Nevada Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $10,000
New Hampshire Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 3 years $10,000
New Jersey

Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% (Under a "Standard" policy. No-fault under a "basic" policy)

2 years $3,000
New Mexico Pure Comparative Fault 3 years $10,000
New York Pure Comparative 3 years $5,000
N. Carolina Pure Contributory Negligence 3 years $10,000
N. Dakota Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 6 years $15,000
Ohio Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $3,000
Oklahoma Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 2 years $7,500
Oregon Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $10,000
Pennsylvania Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $12,000
Rhode Island Pure Comparative Fault 3 years personal $2,500
S. Carolina Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 3 years $7,500
S. Dakota Pure Comparative Fault 3 years personal $12,000
Tennessee Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 3 years $15,000 or $25,000 (County Dependent)
Texas Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 2 years $10,000
Utah Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 4 years personal $10,000
Vermont Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 3 years $5,000
Virginia Contributory Negligence 2 years $5,000
Washington Pure Comparative Fault 3 years $5,000
West Virginia Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% 2 years $5,000
Wisconsin Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 3 years $10,000
Wyoming Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% 4 years $5,000