Personal Injury Statute of Limitations

Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
the time period within which you can bring a lawsuit for personal injuries

State Length of Limitation Code Number State Website Link
Alabama 2 years Title 6, Ch. 2, 6-2-38 State Website Link
Alaska 2 years Sec. 9.10.070 State Website Link
Arizona 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Title 12, Article 3, Secs. 12-541, 12-542 State Website Link
Arkansas 3 years; 2 years med malpractice; 1 year slander Secs. 16-56-104, 16-56-105, 16-114-203 State Website Link
California 2 years (generally, but see State Website Link for specific limits); 1 year for slander, libel Code of Civ. Proc. Sec. 335.1, 340 State Website Link
Colorado 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Colo. Rev. Stat. Secs. 13-80-102, 13-80-103 State Website Link
Connecticut 2 years Conn. Gen. Stat. Ch. 926 Sec. 52-584 State Website Link
Delaware 2 years Title 10, Ch. 81, Sec. 8119 State Website Link
Dist of Columbia 3 years; 1 year libel/slander Title 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 12-301 State Website Link
Florida 4 years; 2 years medical malpractice; 1 year libel/slander Title 8, Ch. 95, Sec. 95.11 State Website Link
Georgia 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Sec 9-3-20 et seq State Website Link
Hawaii 2 years Rev. Stat. Secs. 657-4, 657.7, 657-7.3 State Website Link
Idaho 2 years Title 5, Ch. 2, Sec. 5-219 State Website Link
Illinois 2 years; 1 year defamation 735 ILCS 5/13-201, 13-202 State Website Link
Indiana 2 years Title 34, Art. 11, Ch. 2, Sec. 34-11-2-3, 34-11-2-4 State Website Link
Iowa 2 years Chapter 614, Section 614.1 State Website Link
Kansas 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Chapter 60, Art 5, Secs. 60-513, 60-514 State Website Link
Kentucky 1 year Title 36, Chapter 413, Sec. 413.140 State Website Link
Louisiana 1 year Ci. Code. Art. 3492 State Website Link
Maine 6 years; 2 years libel/slander Title 14,Part 2, Ch. 205, Sub. 1, Secs. 752, 753 State Website Link
Maryland 3 years; 1 year libel/slander Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Secs. 5-101, 5-105 State Website Link
Massachusetts 3 years Title 5, Ch. 260, Secs. 2A and 4 State Website Link
Michigan 3 years; 2 years malpractice; 1 year libel/slander Chapter 600, Act 236, Ch. 58, Sec. 600.5805, number 6, 9 and 10 State Website Link
Minnesota 6 years; 2 years for libel/slander Ch. 541, Sec 541.05, 541.07 State Website Link
Mississippi 3 years; 2 years malpractice; 1 year libel/slander Title 15, Ch. 1, Secs. 15-1-36, 15-1-35, 15-1-49 State Website Link
Missouri 5 years; 2 years libel/slander; 2 years malpractice Title 35, Ch. 516, Secs. 516.105, 516.120, 516.140 State Website Link
Montana 3 years; 2 years libel/slander Title 27, Ch. 2, 27-2-204 State Website Link
Nebraska 4 years; 1 year libel/slander; 2 years malpractice Chapter 25, Secs  25-207, 25-208 State Website Link
Nevada 2 years Chapter 11, Sec 11.190 State Website Link
New Hampshire 3 years Title LII, Chapter 508, Sec. 508.4 State Website Link
New Jersey 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Title 2A, Ch. 14, Sec. 2A:14-2, 14-3 State Website Link
New Mexico 3 years Ch. 37, Art. 1, Sec. 37-1-8 State Website Link
New York 3 years; 2.6 years malpractice; 1 year libel/slander Civil Practice Laws and Rules, Art. 2, Secs. 214, 214-a, 215 State Website Link
N. Carolina 3 years; 1 year libel/slander; 2 years wrongful death Title 1, Secs. 1-52, 1-53. 1-54 State Website Link
N. Dakota 6 years; 2 years in wrongful death, libel/slander Title 28, Ch. 1, Secs. 28-01-16 and 28-01-18 State Website Link
Ohio 2 years; 1 year for libel/slander, malpractice Title 23, Ch. 5, Secs. 2305.10, 2305.11 State Website Link
Oklahoma 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Title 12, Sec. 12-95 State Website Link
Oregon 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Title 2, Ch. 12, Secs. 12.110, 12.120 State Website Link
Pennsylvania 2 years; 1 year libel/slander 42 PA Con. Stat. Sections 5523, 5524 State Website Link
Rhode Island 3 years; 1 year libel/slander Title 9, Ch. 1, Sec. 9-1-14 State Website Link
S. Carolina 3 years; 2 years libel/slander Title 15, Ch. 3, Art. 5, Secs. 15-3-530, 15-3-545, 15-3-550 State Website Link
S. Dakota 3 years; 2 years libel/slander, medical malpractice Title 15, Ch. 2, Secs. 15-2-14, 15-2-14.1, 15-2-15 State Website Link
Tennessee 1 year; 6 months slander Title 28, Ch. 3, Part 1, Secs. 28-3-103, 28-3-104 State Website Link
Texas 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Civ. Prac. & Rem Code, Title 2, Subtitle B, Ch. 16, Subchapter A, Secs. 16.002, 16.003 State Website Link
Utah 4 years; 2 years malpractice; 1 year libel/slander Title 78B, Ch. 2, Secs. 78B-2-302, 78B-2-304, 78B-2-307, 78B-3-404 State Website Link
Vermont 3 years Title 12, Ch. 23, Secs. 512, 521 State Website Link
Virginia 2 years; 1 year libel/slander Title 8.01, Ch. 4, Secs. 8.01-243, 8.01-247.1 State Website Link
Washington 3 years; 2 years libel/slander Title 4, Ch. 16, Secs. 4.16.080, 4.16.100 State Website Link
West Virginia 2 years Chapter 55, Sec. 55-2-12 State Website Link
Wisconsin 3 years Chapter 893, Secs. 893.54, 893.55, 893.57 State Website Link
Wyoming 4 years; 1 year liable/slander Title 1, Ch. 3, Sec. 1-3-105 State Website Link